The Shadows (The Books of Elsewhere, Vol. 1)

Basic Info:

Written by Jacqueline West. Published by Scholastic in 2011.

Book Review:

The Shadows tells the story of an eleven-year-old girl named Olive who has just moved into a new house on Linden Street.  She knows that it’s a little bit odd, but it isn’t until she finds a pair of old spectacles that she finds out just how weird it is. The spectacles help her get to Elsewhere where she meets a young boy named Morton. After learning more about Morton, Elsewhere and the talking cats, Olive knows something has to be done. Olive must fight against dark forces in order to save the house, the neighborhood, and herself. This book is great particularly for little girls in late elementary or early middle school who are learning to be strong, brave, and independent. It is also excellent for children with a strong imagination and sense of adventure!


Readers who like this book will probably also like the rest of this series. This is a link to a list of them on Amazon!

This is the website for the series. It includes information about the author, about the books, videos and activities!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: